FREE PRIORITY SHIPPING on US Orders of $50.00 or more* click here for terms and conditions

Home :: Customer Reviews Feedback-Press

Customer Reviews Feedback-Press

 

From the media

•NyTimes article mentions Blue Velvet Vintage and interviews owner , Theresa Campbell Mckee,  in article about why many women prefer the vintage look.

•Entrepreneur.com interview with owner, Theresa Campbell McKee, about how she started her online business.

•Many thanks to the Splendora Blog for listing us as number five in the their picks for top 20 vintage clothing sites.

“Blue Velvet has a great selection of affordable vintage gowns and wedding dresses. And if you're looking for a flirty cocktail number to show off your curves, try their own collection of pinup inspired dresses made to look vintage.”

•November 5, 2007-Fashiontribes blog cites Blue Velvet Vintage as one of the top 10 vintage reproduction clothing sites.  Here's a direct quote:

“However, we're so much taller, bigger (faster?) than our mid-century sisters that even the most tenacious vintage vixen keeps a talented tailor on speed dial...provided she can even find something close to her size. 

“There have always been particular vintage styles that were consistently requested by our customers, but not always available in their size," explains the fabulous Theresa Campbell McKee of Blue Velvet Vintage (who also blogs at Vintage Style Files) about why she began her line of limited edition, American-made vintage reproductions.

“Inspired by fave designs in her own collection, Theresa interprets classic mid-century styles for today's glamour girl who adores the sexy silhouettes of the 40s & 50s, but not the corseted wasp-waist sizing.

“In an era of cheaply made, fast fashion and a throwaway mentality, they're designed to stand the test of time and to delight the vintage fashion lovers of the future.”

From the June 2007 issue of Country Living Magazine. Their  article on "The Latest Vintage Inspired Fashions"  states "buy girly repros of 1950s halter swing dresses at bluevelvetvintage.com"


Rave Reviews From our Customers



I wanted to thank you for expediting this dress!
You may recall we had an initial glitch with another vendor who “forgot” to tell us they had run out of my daughter’s size.
I have told so many what great service you  provided.
Here she is in it!!  Lots of people asked “Where did you get that dress!”  
You should send me your facebook link.
 Anyway thank you—She looked amazing and best of all a Perfect Fit!
- Jackie M. Lederer-5/16/14




Thank you so much Blue Velvet Vintage! For my senior prom I wanted something classic, unique, and to match my personality. I stumbled across your site and found my dream dress! It shipped so quickly, and was even better in person! I recieved compliments all night.
-Rachel Jewell 5/18/14




First I want to thank you so much for keeping me calm and making me feel like I was the only customer you had to take care of!  The dress came Monday and it was amazing.  There was one bead that was loose, but an easy fix for my alterations queen.  And it FIT!  I am so pleased, so very, very happy!  And the BEST part, was my mom truly loved the earrings I picked out for her!

 

Please share what I am about to say with a manager or owner:

A new co-worker here turned me on to the Blue Velvet Vintage website because that is where she purchased her dress.  As it turns out we are both having Halloween weddings this year.  Skimming thru the pages, I found this gown and fell in love, obsessed; if you will.  From the moment I contacted customer service and reached you, it was absolutely wonderful.  You were quick to respond with prompt, happy responses to my unending questions.  The dress was out of stock and I became even more obsessed, waiting.  Patience is not something I am blessed with.  But, I checked one day and saw it listed as in stock.  Immediately I placed an order and then, the website failed me.  I emailed.  And then 10 minutes later I called in a true Bridezilla panic!  You literally called me two minutes later after hearing the panic in my voice on the machine.  You calmed me, took my order and took the extra time to make sure I was happy.  You went the extra mile, which in these fast paced days, seems to never happen. Then the dress came, perfectly packaged and all that I dreamed of.  I couldn’t be happier and I have you to thank!  Please tell everyone, that you ROCK, because I said so!   From the bottom of my heart, thank you.
Sincerely,
-Nikki Simpson  5/14/14

Thank you again for your follow up.  I want to say that the customer service has been excellent through my whole process.  I was actually waiting on another dress originally and that one did not work out.  I emailed with Michelle several times as well.  Both of you have been very helpful and I truly appreciate it.
Thank you,
-Kristin Stone 4/21/14

We would be thrilled to have our photo shared!! I love the clothes that I got! I already am planning on the green halter that just arrived and love the headbands!
-Rebecca Masci 4/21/14


Thanks so much Kathy!
I just have to tell you that the dress was a HUGE hit!  I was complimented more than a few times and even by several people I did not know.
Glad your store is out there!
Best Regards,
-Kathy Carl 4/14/14




Hi Vicki,
I ordered this dress from you recently for my 50th birthday party in Sydney last weekend.
It arrived in 5 days and fitted perfectly, I was absolutely thrilled with it and it photographs beautifully. I was looking at it in the black and silver but it was out if stock....so pleased I ended up in the gold.
Thanks for your assistance,
Kind Regards,
-Julie Treffry 4/2/14




Hi. I had the opportunity to wear the Swing dress that I recently purchased for a mini spotlight dance that I participated in for Arthur Murray Dancing. The dress was a hit and everyone wanted to know where I got it so I gave them your website information and showed them the variety of dresses, etc that you have. They were very impressed and said they will be going online to view them. Thank you Karen
-Karen Haghenbeck 3/3/14



I just wanted you to know that I can’t even count the number of compliments I received about this dress from people of all ages at this black tie event my husband and I attended.  Needless to say, I got into quite a few conversations about Blue Velvet Vintage. :)  I had so much fun wearing it, and I completely stood out from the crowd.  I can’t wait to wear it again!   Sorry I’m sitting down in the photo, but I hope you can tell how much I loved it.   
-Gina Driscoll 3/25/14



The dress is absolutely beautiful – with intricate details and it’s of very high quality; plus, it fits perfectly. I received numerous compliments at this 20’s Cotton Club Jazz event (see photo); sorry, but the shawl was blocking part of the detail of the dress. Thank you!
–Feiy 2/27/14





Dear Blue Velvet Vintage,
I found this dress by chance on Pinterest and it eventually led me to your website. I was so excited because I had recently been invited to my first wine tasting party, and the attire was “fancy dress.” My boyfriend and I thought it would be fun to go “old school” and do a 1920s inspired look. I bought a medium size, and the dress fit me perfectly! (I am 5’9 with average waste/hips) I never have this kind of luck when I shop online. I just wanted to write your customer service and say thanks! As a customer, I had an awesome experience and would recommend this website to other women looking for something fun and different to wear. :-)
-Katie Wade 1/15/14


Vicky,
Just wanted to let you know that I will not be returning the dress.  I arrived back home this afternoon, got the dress from the USPS & tried it on immediately.  As I'd hoped, it's just as beautiful in person as in the online photo, and the fit is, for the most part, great, and very flattering to my curves.  Just need to adjust the bodice around the bust a bit, and hem up a couple inches, and it will be perfect.
Thanks for a beautiful dress that I know I will feel glamourous in at my NYE party!
Happy Holidays,
-Jamie Ouverson 1/4/14





I just received the black wool coat with mink collar I ordered and I can't tell you how beautiful it is.  Sometimes there is a risk ordering online but everything was as you described. The condition is just about perfect and I cannot wait until my daughter opens it on Christmas morning.  She wears vintage clothing all the time so I will be passing on your website information on to her and I will be making future purchases with you as well.  Many thanks for a wonderful product.
Sincerely,
-Mary Mojallali 12/21/13





Hi Janet,
Well the day finally arrived yesterday and Chelsea attended her formal (prom) last night  I have attached some photos of her.  Thank you for making her look and feel beautiful.  We had heaps of comments about her dress and how beautiful she looked. Looking forward to many more purchases from your boutique in the future.  Maybe you could open a store here in Australia as the Vintage/Retro scene is huge here.
Thank you once again
-Caroline Ramsay 11/14/13




Order 15125 Two flapper dresses ordered arrived on the 12th - it took just 9 days for the order to arrive. Tracking via Freipost was outstanding - and delivery to our local Post Office was prompt after initial delivery when no-one was at home. Not only was your organisation for delivery such excellent service but the two dresses fit perfectly and the quality and finish of both dresses is exceptional. It's my daughter's 21st birthday celebrations - 1920's theme - and this was a perfect start. Thank you so very much.
-Lori Buchanan 9/14/13




Thank you so much for your quick refund...I only wish some of the major department stores had your customer service skills!  You all have been wonderful to work with.
 -Rita Thomas 8/19/13




Hello
I just wanted to thank you for the refund made!
The little green dress received fits perfectly!A very great thank for the good service you provide!
-Karin Kouprianov 6/17/13




Hello, I received my dress and slip. Can't say enough good things. They are so perfect my husband was amazed. The quality is just beautiful. The embroidered black fabric with pink roses it's made from is just gorgeous. The details of the short sleeve cuff and collar are wonderful. I bought another dress from you within the last few months and it was also beautiful. I'll keep shopping with you. Thank you.
-Susanne Grossman 6/22/13



DRESS just arrived.  LOVE IT!  Fits great. Looks Great.  Thanks.
-Caroll Scarborough 6/11/13



I ordered a dress from your website last April for my daughter's senior prom this year.  Well, she just had her prom and the dress was a complete success.  I wanted to share a photo with you.
Also, I just placed an order for myself for an upcoming blacktie event.  Very excited for it's delivery.
-Michelle Silliman 5/20/13




Janet.
Thanks for your the response.  I received my dress today.  It is absolutely FABULOUS !!!  I measured and ordered according to  the size chart. Not only is the fit perfect, so is the length.  It can be hard to find evening dresses that are long enough with heels.  I love the swishy sounds it makes as I walk.  I always feel grown-up when my gowns "talk".  I'm reminded of my childhood and my mother getting dressed up and hearing her walk through the house.  The dress is perfect for our event.  We're going to a big band dance at Nashville Opryland Hotel over Memorial Day weekend.
Thanks again.
-Deborah Gussman 5/13/14



I ordered the green Nataya '20s dress and gold shoes (the ones that were recently on the new arrivals page) to wear to an event for the launch of Z by Therese Anne Fowler. It was a HUGE hit. HUGE. I think I directed four different people to the shoes alone. Ms. Fowler was definitely interested because she's going to a lunch with Anna Wintour and the costume designer for The Great Gatsby (could you die?!). Just wanted to say thanks! The whole outfit was a success.
-Robin M  4/24/13




I would like to say thank you for letting me know when stock became
available and
I received the dress it is gorgeous .  again Thank You
-Pamela Weyer 4/19/13




Hello Janet
I collected my dress and petticoat today. I am so impressed it fits and feels amazing thank you very much.
-Vannesa Mole 4/11/13




I've just received my Trashy Diva Courtney Coat Dress and I just have to say . It's BAEAUTIFUL ! Wow the quality exceeded all that had hoped for and I LOVE IT ! Thank you and I most certinly will be ordering again .
-Bayley P.  4/8/13



Hi, I was looking through my prom photos today (which took place last year) and I remembered how much I loved my dress, I never said thank you for the amazing dress that I received, I got so many compliments and felt like I was absolutely made to wear it. I'd be happy to send a photo if you'd like to use it on your page, otherwise I just wanted to say thank you! It was beautiful.
-Anya Eastman 4/1/13



I just wanted to thank you for the SUPERB customer service I received! You went above and beyond the necessary service and I am so happy with the items I purchased and how quickly I received them. I discovered that I don't even have to roll over the waistband of the petticoat, since the lace edges look very nice sticking out slightly from underneath the dress.
-Ariel Strichartz  2/17/13



I just thought I'd drop you a message to say how amazingly grateful I am to Blue Velvet Vintage! Buying a dress online was super scary, especially seeing how strict the return policy is and being all the way in New Zealand but upon recieving my dress exactly 7 days after dispatch as promised, i wouldnt want to return it for the world! I bought the 40's hollywood glamour dress in honey gold for my school ball, its nothing like it looked in the photo.. its ten times more beautful! :D Thank you so much, you've got a return customer for sure, I'll be singing your praises! xx

-Felicity Newburry- Feb 20, 2013

                                                                                                                                                                                                    


The dress arrived and exceeds my expectations, it is so lovely and the fit is perfect.

The only thing better than the dress is the extraordinary customer service you and your company provided me. I am so very thankful for your help and wish you all the best.
—Kelly, Feb 15/2012

I just want to say belated thanks for the lovely dress (fits great if a little long for me, but should be easily fixed) and the lovely headband. And thanks for the great service!
— Cheers, Janet, 1/28/12

Hi, I'm Heidi. We discussed sizing about the 1920's Reproduction Beaded Fringed White "Marcelle" Flapper Dress, SKU repr05011. I just wanted to let you know that it arrived, it fits great, and I love it! It is so beautiful! I'm extremely happy with the service this company provides and the dress styles. Thanks again!
— :^) Heidi 1/13/12

Thank you so much for your honesty and efficiency! I won't hesitate to recommend you to others and will be back in the future.
— Jane 12/13/11

Thank you so much. I love your products and the service you always give me. You're awesome. Thank you. Have a wonderful Christmas.
— Alex1/9/12

Sorry for the delay, but I thought I would let you know that we got the dress as per the invoice below. Thanks for the prompt delivery and your excellent customer service. My daughter is delighted with the dress and looks beautiful in it. She will be the belle of the ball I'm sure.
— Thanks again Linda 12/9/11

Thank you so much for the beautiful dress! It fits perfectly and I just love it! And, many thanks for the lovely hair bow/pin. It was very much appreciated!
—Many thanks, Shena, 11/30/11

The dress arrived today, I am so happy with it...it fits like a glove and sexy as all get out! Thank you to everyone who helped me. : )
— Sincerely, Crystal 11/16/11

I received my dress yesterday. It is lovely. The entire process of ordering through your company was a pleasure. I contacted customer service and received a very quick response. I followed their suggestions for an alternative item as the one I wanted was out of stock. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition.
—Thank you for the great customer service. Diane 10/25/11

I have received my order and the dress is glorious. I love it and will send a photo all the way from Oz when I wear it for my 40th.
—Regards, Marrissa 10/23/11

I received my dress yesterday and I can't even begin to describe how happy I am with it! It fits like it was custom made for my body and it is even more beautiful than it was in the pictures!

Thank you so much for helping me with sizing!
— Best regards, Molly, 10/19/11

I just wanted to thank you for your speedy service and gorgeous items. Everything is divine and size is a dream. Couldn’t ask for more. I will definitely be returning. Thank you so much, love it.
— Regards, Kylie, 9//21/11

I have my dress and I just love it so much, it fits perfectly except for the length since I'm a shorty now (have shrunk over the years! ) I haven't been to the seamstress yet or I would send you pics for the site now, but I will ASAP. I just wanted to thank you so very much for going the extra mile and allowing me to be able to have my dream dress. They should give you a raise and feel good knowing they have someone who actually cares about their job. I know its not a typical wedding dress but it IS my perfect dress. I just feel beautiful with it on. Big thanks from Fort McMurray, Canada!
— Melissa, 7/10/11

Dear Blue Velvet,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I just rec'd my order and everything is in tact and looks and fits perfectly. As I suspected, the XL dress is a bit large for me in the bust however I am on my way to the tailor to have it taken in today. I'll be ready in perfect time for my event on Sunday. I'm very impressed with the quality of the garments and the excellent customer service of you online store. I will be shopping with you again in the very near future.
— Best Regards, Debbie, 6/22/11

I just received my dress and I love it!!! I really appreciate your quick service! I have another dress, but it just didn't feel right for this wedding! It will be outside at Stowe, VT and my daughter is wearing a Claire Pettibone gown. So beautiful!! With this dress, I feel like I will blend in, yet stand out!!! So excited!
— Thank-you so much, Margaret, 6/9/2011

Hello! I just wanted to let you know the dress I ordered from your company arrived yesterday, and it is truly amazing (it was the off-white leaf design 50's tea length dress with the pearl embellished jacket). I am getting married in November in Granada, Nicaragua and the dress, although needing just a few slight alterations, is going to be perfect for the occasion. I just wanted to say thank you for the excellent service and providing my dream wedding dress. You have a new lifelong customer. :)
— Best, Genessa, 4/19/11

I would like to compliment Blue Velvet Vintage on the quality and beauty of the dress we purchased. Not only was it EXACTLY as it appeared in the photo, it was very well made and of a much higher quality of dresses 3 times the cost. My daughter looks gorgeous and can't wait for her prom, and I am very pleased after returning 2 other dresses from other sites that were the same price, but extremely poor quality. Thank you soooooo much in exceeding our expectations and making for a very happy prom season. We will definitely be on this sit again.
— Chloe Roderick, 4/18/2011

I purchased my military ball gown from Blue Velvet Vintage, it was stunning! Not only did I pay less than most, I felt like I was walking the red carpet. I even was told I looked like i belonged at the Oscar's. Love this site, love the product, and will definitely tell all my friends.
— Thanks, Kendra, 4/8/2011

To anyone considering purchasing goods from Blue Velvet, I would like to say that my experience was very good. The web site was easy to navigate, the article was as shown, and arrived within one week of purchase (USA to Australia. Well done Blue Velvet!!
— Lynn from Australia, 3/31/2011

Thank you so very much-my 3 Nataya dresses arrived today. They are beautiful. I'm very pleased with them and with your service. I will tell all my friends about your website. Expect to get many more orders from Ireland.
— Una, 3/23/11

Thank You for the quick delivery. I love my dress! I'm sure I will be purchasing many things from you in the future.
— Sincerely, Sherri Healey, 3/21/11

Greetings,
Just wanted to say I received my dress today and I love it! I was really worried that the fit was going to be way off because of the 50's cut/style but I followed your website suggestion and had myself measured and low and behold, it fit! (I am otherwise a small but my measurements fell in the medium range for this dress) I am celebrating my 50th birthday and have asked my guests to wear black and white. I wanted a red dress that was bold yet elegant to stand out amongst the black and white. My search for the right red dress was becoming a daunting task. Then one of my co-workers told me about your website and I got the last medium size. Lucky me! Again, I love it! The color is vibrant and the full swing skirt is going to keep me on the dance floor all night long. Ie decided to order the petticoat to give it that special effect. I can't wait to celebrate in my new RED dress!
— Sincerely, Althea, 3/7/11

Thank you so much! Love the dress!! It couldn't be even more perfect.. I'm extremely satisfied with it. Thank you Blue Velvet Vintage! Awesome customer service and shipping! :)
— Huong, 2/21/11

I am completely satisfied with the dress! I absolutely love it and I ordered the small and the petite petticoat.....your recommendations were perfect! I look forward to purchasing more at Blue Velvet. Have a great day!
— Sandra S., New York, 3/5/11

Just wanted to tell you that my dress arrived today and it fits PERFECTLY. Love, love, love it! Now it just needs to warm up enough to wear. Thanks for your advice about the sizing and the prompt service.
— Paula, 2/7/11

I just received my "pink floral vintage inspired dress." I want to tell you that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! It is so pretty. It arrived very quickly, the quality is great, and the size is true. I have always had a good experience with your company. - Can't wait to surprise my hubby with it on date night tonight!
— Thank you so much, Melissa, 1/22/11

I just wanted to let you know that I received my dresses and they are wonderful!!!!! I'll definitely be passing on your website to my friends!
— See you soon! Becky, 12/22/10

Our wedding was this past Saturday and I wore one of your wonderful dresses for our big day! I looked so beautiful! Everyone just loved the dress. Thank you for making me look amazing on one of the biggest days of my life!
—Sophia, 11/10/10
 

Just wanted to say a huge thank you for sending my dress I love it. I have sent you some photo's from Miss Burlesque Queensland comp which I won! I'll try to get more photo's of the dress at the finals. Hope all is well with you thanks again,
—Krystal xxxxx (Ellashaye'), 7/19/2010

I wanted to thank you for the gorgeous vintage 50s dress that I bought for my daughter's fifties-themed sweet 16 party. It is perfect and made her extremely happy. The dress arrived very quickly, in excellent condition and it fits her perfectly! It is the red taffeta with black lace overlay and black velvet halter tie and bow.
I have a couple of photos I would like to send but can't find your email address. Thanks again!
Alison — 7/9/10

Thank you! My bathing suit arrived Friday and I love it- better than described and I could not be more pleased.
—Annie, 6/28/10

Hello, Just to confirm that the dress arrived today and I'm delighted with it. It's a perfect fit (apart from the belt) and looks fabulous (even if I say so myself!). Your service and packing is excellent and I will definitely shop with you again. Thank you too for the lovely bangle which was a lovely surprise.
—Regards, Kim 5/31/10

I happily received this Blue Velvet Vintage burgundy gown with lace up back burgundy gown with lace up back the mail. I just wanted to thank you so much for specially ordering the small for me. I wore this to my Prom and everyone was thoroughly amazed at how beautiful my dress was. The embroidery was as seen online, and the dress color was accurate. I am 100% happy with the dress I received, and plan on continuing to buy dresses from your website.Thank you for giving me incredible customer service, and insuring customer satisfaction.
—As always, Carly Ferraro, 5/23/10

I just wanted to drop in and thank Blue Velvet Vintage for providing me with such a beautiful dress for my graduation from UConn over the weekend. I purchased the retro 1950's swing dress in the ditsy floral print and i absolutely LOVE this dress. It fits me perfectly, the fabric is lovely, it is high quality, and it is ...overall, a very fun dress to wear. The dress received compliments wherever we went that night and people were actually chasing me down at dinner to compliment the dress and find out where i got it from. i wish you sold it in different patterns. Anyways. thanks for offering the dress. it truly is lovely and i had a lot of fun wearing it!!! I will be sure to forward you some photos when i have them.
—Thanks again, Caylei, 5/10/10

Dear Theresa,
Thank you for your generous gift of "pin"..I love it! And that dress! Oh my gosh! (blk polka dot, small) The waist bodice fits perfectly(I am 96lbs), I do have to alter the bust.. shoulders drop off.. but there is teacher here who is a seamstress who will do the alterations... I think the XS wouldn't of fit.. it would of liked like a "corset"... I plan to just pull out my "wonder bra" from Victorias Secret,oh well..... Looking forward to viewing more apparel and ordering from you. Thanks again, I have already given your website out to several of the gals I work with here at school and Coldwater Creek! Regards and Gracias
— Nancy, 5/3/10

I felt so glamorous for our military ball, the customer service from your company was wonderful and the dress shipped quickly. The price for the quality of the dress was also another plus.I had a lot of comments on my gown and I told them all exactly where to go to find a dress with the vintage look but the newer quality. I will definitely be looking to your website the next time I need a formal gown. Thanks again!
— Sincerely, Monique S., 5/2/10

I bought a prom gown from your website a while back and just want to let you know it worked out perfectly! I completely adore it, and I got tons of compliments. Was definitely the most original gown at the prom, and I paired it with a mink stole to add to the vintage feel. I'm sending a couple of photos to thank you very much for helping make my day incredibly special!
Anastasia, 4/20/10

Hello! Thank you so much just wanted to let you know that Caitlin had a great time at the prom. The dress looked beautiful on her. You have customers for life; she has already found a dress for homecoming on your website.
Wendi and Quinn, 4/19/10

Theresa, I ordered the Trashy Diva 40s Vintage Inspired Swing Dress (SKU Repr01451), and I just received it in the mail today. I just wanted to let you know that this dress is absolutely divine! It is truly stunning. The fit is perfect--it is so helpful that your site gives measurements. This dress is timeless and looks like it costs so much more than it did. The styles in stores/fashion now just don't mesh with my personal body type and style.
I always say I should have lived in the 40s and 50s, and this dress is so feminine. I will definitely be shopping your site for future occasions. Thank you for making such fantastic products!
Sincerely, Hope David, 4/2/10

Hi there,
Just wanted to let you know we received the dress today and we LOVE it. My daughter is so excited and cannot wait to wear it. We feel so lucky to have found you on the internet. My daughter's friend ordered her prom dress from you too!! We will keep you in mind for next year's prom. Thanks again for your wonderful service and the beautiful dress.
— Tammy, 4/2/10

3/12/10 Thank you so much for your help!!!!! I can't believe my parcel got here on time!!!!!!! It was stuck in customs until last night because of their backlog....one email later and it arrived in my hometown this morning, I picked it up after work! Fits perfectly, its stunning, I'm so pleased! Wearing it out tomorrow, it literally arrived in the nick of time! Going to start saving for my next outfit!!!!!
— Vicky, 4/2/10

I just wanted to let you know that the vintage aqua nightgown and bed jacket with chiffon and light tan lace arrived today. The set is very beautiful. You packaged the items very well and I am looking forward to taking this to Paris with me. Thank you again for your quick mailing of this item.
— Jenny, 3/1/10

Hello there, it's Bronte, my dress for my school ball arrived on Friday. i am so pleased with it, i was over-the moon when i saw it hanging on my bed-room door ! it's absolutely stunning and it fits beautifully. thank you for all the little touches of the broach and extra sequins. i will send a photograph of myself the night of my ball. thank you again
— Bronte, 3/1/10

Theresa, I just got my dress. It is even more gorgeous than I expected!!!! I am so excited to wear it on the red carpet, a complete dream come true! Thank you so much for the wrap and clutch purse, that was so thoughtful. Look for pictures in a couple weeks,
— Melissa, 2/22/10

Thanks for your help Theresa. The service was amazing, I will definitely be purchasing again in the future and passing along the great online service from you guys!
— Cheers, Sarah, 2/19/10

Hello! Wanted to say that I LOVE my Bettie Page "curves" dress. What is even more impressive than my dress, is the short amount of time it took to arrive...I received my dress just days after I ordered it! Thank you for the great service!!!
Melissa Hall, 2/8/10

Hello Theresa, I have finally arrived home. Christmas is a little late but my whole family was here to greet me. The dress was waiting, WOW. It fits beautifully. My anniversary is going to be so grand. Apparently my wonderful husband has catered a ballroom, a hotel room and and an orchestra. So, what a New Year's Eve this will be. 227 of our closest friends and family. What a welcome home this has turned out to be, almost like getting married all over again. Thank you again for the dress. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and all of you wonderfully helpful staff. I have already picked a few things to put on my wish list from your store.
— Tina, 1/11/10

Hi Theresa I just wanted to email you and thank you for the GORGEOUS dress. It arrived this morning! I am so grateful for your prompt and efficient delivery. I'm planning to wear this dress to a 50's themed New Years Eve Party. I'm looking forward to purchasing from your website soon. All the best for Christmas and the New Year
— Warm regards, Amy, 12/8/09

Hi, I just wanted to thank you so much for the fabulous dress! It fits perfectly, thanks to your precise measurements. And the dress arrived in just two days. So fast! I love it and wore it as part of a Mad Men Halloween costume. I've included a photo. I have gotten so many compliments on it and I plan to wear it on many special occasions. Thank you so much Blue Velvet Vintage!
— Liz, 11/3/09

I just received the dress I ordered, and I LOVE it!!! It fits beautifully, and I cant wait to wear it out and about! I am so thrilled to have found your website, and look forward to ordering other vintage items. Thank-you for your wonderful and prompt service and delivery. I cant believe I was lucky enough to buy this dress before it sold!
— Until next time, Becky Weston

Here's Becky swing dancing in one of our red polka dot halter dresses

I received my two dresses today and I ABSOLUTELY love them! Great quality and style, and fantastic service. I stumbled across your site, and am so glad I did. This is the first time I have sent this type of message for an online shopping experience.
— Thanks again! Gina

I just wanted to thank you so much for the lovely gown. I couldn't have been more pleased with it. I so appreciate your website and penchant for vintage fashions. Keep up the great work!
— Thanks, Audrey

Dear Theresa, Thank you so much for help in purchasing a dress for my daughter. I could not believe it arrived six days after I ordered it, talk about service! It is absolutely fabulous, Elizabeth is so excited to own such a lovely piece of clothing. My other daughters have all put in their orders too. Thank you once again.
— Tina
P.S. Thanks for the scarf it was a lovely touch!"

Just a quick note to say thanks for the great service - my "50’S “NEW LOOK” VINTAGE PROM/WEDDING DRESS" was shipped so quickly, and is in wonderful condition! I was really nervous waiting to see it as I was possibly waiting for my wedding dress, but wouldn't know if it was right till it got here! The first thing I found when I opened the box was the lovely handbag - what a cool extra, thank you! the dress was beautifully wrapped, is a wonderful colour, and most importantly, works!, so I now have my wedding dress!
— Thanks very much, Sally

Greetings, I would love to share a picture of me in one of the dresses I purchased from your website. The dress I picked fit perfectly and made me feel gorgeous for my 2009 prom. Is there any way I could send my picture to you? Again thank you so much for making me one of the most beautiful girls of my high school prom
— Jesse
 
Here's Jesse in one of our vintage style gowns. We're happy we could help make her prom night a memorable one!

I bought the most beautiful dress from blue velvet recently, and I couldn't wait for prom to pass just so I could send you pictures. The delivery was only two days and it fit perfectly, everything worked out wonderful, which was a great relief from my dress last year. hahaha. I am most definitely going to be buying my senior prom dress from blue velvet and I cant wait. Thank you so much.
— Sincerly Amber
 
And here's Amber on the left looking totally glamorous for  her prom  in   one of our  "Old Hollywood" style retro gowns.

Margot writes "the dress is perfect, i cant believe how quickly it arrived, thank you for the earrings (!), you have/are a wonderful business."

Dear Theresa, Yesterday I received the dress I ordered and I was in seventh heaven. It fits as if it was made especially for me and I look absolutely adorable in it. Thank you for the fast shipment,
— Kind Regards, Kinita

Just placed my first order with you, the Betty Page Bernedette dress. Not only did it come really fast, but it fits perfect, and i love it! Always nervous to order clothing on line, but you made a gamble a sure thing! Can't wait to wear it, and look and feel fabulous in it! I will be ordering from you a lot in the future!
—Thanks!! Nyiah

Just wanted to let you know I just received and tried on my 30's style gown with crystals and I am very very impressed. The quality is wonderful and the fit is perfect!!! I will definitely keep you in mind when I'm looking for another vintage inspired look!! Thank you so much for your help over the phone and the speedy delivery!!"
— Carolin

"Dear Blue Velvet Vintage, I just want to say, I love the Wendy swing dress! Perfect color, length, neckline, sleeves, and of course flattering fit! This dress has much swing dancing in its future. Needless to say, I will NOT be returning it. Thanks — it's been a pleasure doing business with you.
— Rachel   

Dear Blue Velvet, I have been meaning to e-mail my thanks to you, the order arrived in perfect condition and very quickly, thank you very much. The dress, shrug and underskirt was beautifully made and a delight to wear.
— Yours sincerely, Elizabeth

My dresses just arrived, perfectly packed & pressed. They are the most gorgeous things I've ever seen, esp. the black rhinestone 60s cocktail dress. I am thrilled beyond belief! Blue Velvet is THE BEST! I'm so glad I found you!
— Sincerely! Janet

Here are two letters and pix from Becky wearing our vintage reproduction dress to a 40s event.

I already received my order today!  The dresses are AWESOME!  I love the fabric and the authentic style! Thank YOU!I will take pics of my husband and I at our event and then email them onto you!"
Thanks

Theresa, Our weekend was a huge success!  The dress I wore had an amazing response! In fact, I won a costume contest in it!

Thank you, I received the order today. Most impressed with delivery time! And the items fit perfectly and look exactly as I had imagined, due to your exceptional listing description. Thank you!
— Helen

Hi there, This is just a quick line to let you know that I have just received your parcel today. The light blue dress suit is absolutely stunning and I am really happy with this transaction.
Thanks a lot !

I put your site in my favorites and i will have a look on a regular basis !Thanks again and have a fantastic day (you made mine !!),
— With my very best regards, Zoe

Hi, just to say that the skirt and top arrived today and it is absolutely Fantastic, just as described. I just LOVE it!! I hope to be shopping with you more in the future, you are THE BEST!!
— Best wishes, Gillian, U.K.

Here is a happy bride and her friend wearing our vintage reproduction Hawaiian dresses at her Tiki  bachelorette party held at the Old School Pinups Studio in Seattle, Washington.

Just got the two vintage style dresses today. They are PERFECT. Mine fits so well, and my friend's fits me pretty good too ;) And THANK YOU for the hair flowers and Leis! You have no idea how happy I am with my purchase and how excited I am for my Bachelorette party! I will DEFINITELY be doing business with you again! 
— Susan



One of our customers sent us this glamorous photo of herself wearing our satin halter swing dress and bolero jacket at her friend's wedding
.


Hi Theresa, Just wanted to let you know that this dress fits beautifully and is just gorgeous!  I'll be wearing it in our wedding in just less than two months.  The other dress that I purchased from you (the green/gold "wiggle" dress) is also perfectly gorgeous, and again, a perfect fit.
— Dina

Dear Blue Velvet Vintage- Hi, my name is Chloe, and I had just bought a black, 50's wiggle dress. And I wanted to say how I just love it, and it was at a great price. You run a great online shop, one of the best! Thanks.
— Chloe

Theresa: I can't believe how wonderful the dress is!! It is more perfect than even the photos could show... IT IS THE ONE!!! Thank you so sincerely! It may actually out do the brides dress.... Take care! And again, THANK YOU!!
— Georgina

Hi Theresa, The dress arrived today and it is beautiful!!! Thank you so very much for sending it to us and we look forward to seeing other prints. It is a perfect fit for my daughter. We will send a picture to you so you can see how great it looks! Again we really appreciate your help and the beautiful work that went into making the dress.
— Sincerely, Jan

Merci, merci!! Both dresses I have ordered from you this month fit like a glove and are sure to be sensational at Holiday parties. Your surprise gifts, a broach with my red chiffon 60's dress & the purse with my 50's Razooks black sequined gown, are greatly appreciated and brought a ray of joy to my heart. I have booked marked you site and most certainly will check it religiously.
— Carrie

The dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! Can`t wait to wear it!! Thank you very much, special thanks for a lovely gift, wasn`t sure what jewelery to get...now i know. Thanks a lot again. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year
— Elena

Thanks so much for the clothing. I had such a fine time trying them on and looking thru my stuff for accessories. They are beautiful and high quality. I can really recommend you.
— Charity

Hi Theresa, The dresses and petticoat arrived this morning and I LOVE them all! I absolutely adore the hawaiian dress and it fits as if it was made to measure, I can't wait to see what other dresses and fabrics you will have in this section.
— Thanks Abi

Love the new vintage style Hawaiian halter dress I recently ordered from you. Wore it to a Hawaiian themed surprise birthday party last weekend. It fits great and I received many compliments on it.
— Sincerely, Jill

Hi Theresa, The red Fred Perlberg dress arrived last week, fits perfectly just like the previous red silk shirtwaister, I really must stop buying red!I think that you are easily the most efficient and speedy seller that I have had the pleasure to buy from and the little extras are a lovely surprise. I have passed on details of your site to several people already. I will send a photo when I wear one or other of the dresses, only if it's from my best side though! The vintage sizing is spot on, I could not buy anything today that would fit so well, in fact when we were on holiday in Florida looking for an evening gown, I was directed to the very small selection of size 2s and 4s, none of which were either to my taste or would have fit. I can be absolutely sure that I will not be wearing the same dress as anyone else. Thank you for your great site and your brilliant service.
— Regards Alison


Performers at the Navy Pier in Chicago wearing Hawaiian print vintage reproduction halter dresses from Blue Velvet Vintage.

I ordered a sequined top from you last week, and it fits perfectly! I LOVE it and I thought you had sent extra sequins in the tiny plastic bag, but it was a very nice bracelet! Was I ever surprised. Talk about wonderful customer service! THANK YOU!! I have already passed your site on to someone else!" Jan
"I just wanted to let you know that I received the dress today. You were right! It is absolutely beautiful, and the fabric is so much prettier in person than even I originally thought! Thank you for the earrings that was so nice! They are going to look fabulous with the dress!"
— Loretta

I wanted to share this picture of my wedding with you since I purchased the dress from your site.  I would also like to thank you for having the perfect dress and great customer service! "
— Sincerely, Alex

Hi Theresa. I just received my order and I love everything! They're even more beautiful in person. I wanted to thank you for the beautiful clutch you included, I love it! I needed a dressy black bag, so thank you again.
— Alison

Hi Theresa! All good wishes from Chicago. I wasn't in the office on Tuesday when the skirt arrived, but found the package waiting for me yesterday. I couldn't wait to go home and try the skirt on. It is absolutely beautiful! What a gorgeous fabric -- and perfect fit! And you weren't kidding about the mint condition! I can't tell you how happy I am that I found your website. Thanks so much.
— Sincerely, Arlene

Hi Theresa, The shoes made their way to Tokyo... and yes! They're wonderful!
— Best wishes, Yolande

I ordered a jacket from you, and it must be two weeks ago now. I just wanted to thank you for the excellent service and speedy delivery. I ordered it on a Thursday night and it was there on Saturday, and the distance is all the way across the Continent! The jacket is in beautiful condition, just like you described it, and it fits wonderfully. I hope to order from you again in the future.
— Sincerely Elizabeth

We just received the dress. It fits perfectly!!!The dress is in excellent condition--we're so pleased.My husband is a WWII reenactor and I get to play "Dress up" with him. We will definitely be buying from you in the future. Thanks for the quality customer service.
— Happy customers in MD

Hi Theresa I received the dress today and it fits beautifully, completely amazing! Thank You and looking forward doing business with You again. Kind Regards Elle"
"I am sooooo excited! got my dress in the mail today... fits perfectly! thank you sooooo much for sending it right away, now i can wear it for the holidays.
— Thanks again! Carol


A pretty picture sent to us from a customer.  She's wearing a pink vintage party dress she purchased from us.